Copyright 2017 - www.kyzikos.gr

Η Μητρόπολη Κυζίκου

Η Κύζικος αρχικά υπάγονταν εκκλησιαστικώς στη Μητρόπολη Εφέσου. Τον 4ο αιώνα έγινε Μητρόπολη και τον 5ο αιώνα τοποθετήθηκε στην 5η θέση μεταξύ των υπό τον Κωνσταντινουπόλεως Μητροπόλεων. Η Μητρόπολη Κυζίκου είχε στη δικαιοδοσία της κατά τον 7ο αιώνα 12 Επισκοπές. Κάποιες από αυτές (Άβυδος) προήχθησαν αργότερα σε Μητροπόλεις.

Από το 688 μέχρι το 695 εγκαταστάθηκε στην Κύζικο με μεγάλο μέρος του ποιμνίου του λόγω των Αραβικών επιδρομών ο Αρχιεπίσκοπος Κύπρου στον οποίο ανατέθηκε η διαποίμανση της Μητροπόλεως Κυζίκου. Την εντολή της εγκατάστασης αυτής έδωσε ο αυτοκράτορας Ιουστινιανός και για το λόγο αυτό η περιοχή ονομάστηκε Νέα Ιουστινιανή ή Νέα Ιουστινιανούπολις.

Μετά τον σεισμό του 1063 που κατέστρεψε ολοσχερώς την πόλη της Κυζίκου, η έδρα της Μητροπόλεως μεταφέρθηκε στην Αρτάκη. Μέχρι το 1932 οπότε έτος κατά το οποίο χηρεύει, παρέμενε η τέταρτη στην ιεραρχία του Οικουμενικού Θρόνου Μητροπόλη.

Τον Μάρτιο του 1913 αποσπάστηκε το Δυτικό τμήμα της Μητροπόλεως Κυζίκου και αποτέλεσε τη Μητρόπολη Δαρδανελλίων και Λαμψάκου.

Δοκιμαστικό κείμενο 1

The site amid the marshes of Balkiz Serai is known as Bal-Kiz and entirely uninhabited, though under cultivation. The principal extant ruins are the walls, dating from the fourth century, which are traceable for nearly their whole extent, and the substructures of the temple of Hadrian, the ruins of a Roman aqueduct and a theatre.

The picturesque amphitheatre, intersected by a stream, built in the third century B.C., was one of the largest in the world; its diameter was nearly 500 feet (150 m). Of this magnificent building, sometimes ranked among the seven wonders of the ancient world, thirty-one immense columns still stood erect in 1444. These have since been carried away piecemeal for building purposes.

Colossal foundations of a temple dedicated to the Emperor Hadrian are still visible: the columns were 21.35 metres high (about 70 feet), while the highest known elsewhere, those at Baalbek in Syria are only 19.35 metres (about 63 feet).

The monuments of Cyzicus were used by the Byzantine emperor Justinian as a quarry for the building of his Saint Sophia cathedral, and were still exploited by the Ottomans.

Δοκιμαστικό κείμενο 2

The site amid the marshes of Balkiz Serai is known as Bal-Kiz and entirely uninhabited, though under cultivation. The principal extant ruins are the walls, dating from the fourth century, which are traceable for nearly their whole extent, and the substructures of the temple of Hadrian, the ruins of a Roman aqueduct and a theatre.

The picturesque amphitheatre, intersected by a stream, built in the third century B.C., was one of the largest in the world; its diameter was nearly 500 feet (150 m). Of this magnificent building, sometimes ranked among the seven wonders of the ancient world, thirty-one immense columns still stood erect in 1444. These have since been carried away piecemeal for building purposes.

Colossal foundations of a temple dedicated to the Emperor Hadrian are still visible: the columns were 21.35 metres high (about 70 feet), while the highest known elsewhere, those at Baalbek in Syria are only 19.35 metres (about 63 feet).

The monuments of Cyzicus were used by the Byzantine emperor Justinian as a quarry for the building of his Saint Sophia cathedral, and were still exploited by the Ottomans.

f t g m